Katrin Erlinghagen wins Women's MINT Award

  • Share
    Two clicks for more data privacy: click here to activate the button and send your recommendation. Data will be transfered as soon as the activation occurs.
  • Print
  • Read out

Women and technology: It's a perfect combination. Katrin Erlinghagen, who was presented with the Women's MINT Award at this year's CeBIT, is one outstanding example, together with the other five prize-winners.

MINT and magenta go very well together, whatever the fashion pack may say! MINT stands for mathematics, information technology, natural sciences and technology, skills that are urgently needed by Deutsche Telekom in its bid to help shape the Gigabit society. Unfortunately, women make up less than 20 percent of the students on many of these courses, despite the prospect of an interesting, well-paid job after graduation. The Group is determined to change this, by backing female role models and raising their profile. Deutsche Telekom presented prizes to the six Women's MINT Award 2014 winners at this year's CeBIT. Deutsche Telekom Board Member Claudia Nemat congratulated Katrin Erlinghagen of Dortmund Technical University on her victory. "Katrin Erlinghagen has not only managed to produce an extremely impressive dissertation; I am also very happy that she has already joined us at Deutsche Telekom so that she can really develop her flair for innovation at our company."
Informatics student Katrin Erlinghagen's chosen subject is very on-trend. Her dissertation on small cells, which she submitted in the growth category "Networks of the Future", won enthusiastic praise from the jury. After graduating with a Master's degree, the 29-year-old joined Deutsche Telekom and now works in the Security unit, specializing in the technical security of infrastructure and products. The prize will be put to good use in her quest for knowledge: Katrin Erlinghagen is investing the prize money in a research trip.

Alongside Katrin Erlinghagen, the other well-deserved winners in the individual categories were:

  • Networks of the Future: Sandra Kübler, Darmstadt University
  • Connected Car: Jennifer Schoch, Karlsruhe Institute for Technology
  • Cyber Security: Christine Schröder, Rostock University
  • Industry 4.0: Elisabeth Steckner, Darmstadt University of Technology
  • eHealth: Carina Lehle, Erlangen-Nuremberg University

Get involved in the Women's MINT Award 2015
Female students and graduates in any of the MINT subjects are eligible to apply for the annual Women's MINT Award. The new topics, which should be the subject of your Bachelor's or Master's dissertation, thesis or exam paper, will be announced shortly. The overall winner will be awarded EUR 3,000, with an additional EUR 500 for the winners of each growth category.

The Women's MINT Award 2015, a collaboration between Deutsche Telekom, the audimax student magazine and the "MINT Zukunft schaffen" (MINT – building the future) initiative, is now entering its third year. The submissions period for entries opens in June 2015. The exact date can be found at (German). We look forward to reading plenty of interesting submissions. Get MINTing!